Skip to main content

First Nations, Métis and Inuit K-12 Resources: Books

This guide recommends resources available in the Education Library and online that suppport the integration of First Nations, Métis and Inuit knowledge and perspectives into a variety of courses, subjects, and cross-curricular learning at the K-12 level.

Book lists

Picture Books: Stories & Non-fiction

Older Readers: Fiction & Non-fiction

Graphic Novels

7 Generations Series 

By: David Alexander Robertson & Scott B. Henderson

2010 | Call Number: 741.5 ROB

7 Generations is an epic, 4-book graphic novel series (Stone, Scars, Ends/Begins, The Pact) that spans three centuries and seven generations. The central character in the series is Edwin. Edwin, an Aboriginal teenager, must learn of his family’s past if he is to have any future. The impact of his journey of discovery, and the revelation that follows, will change his life.


Sugar Falls: A Residential Schools Story 

By: David Alexander Robertson & Scott B. Henderson

2011 | Call Number: Graphic 371.829 ROB

Based on a true story: A school assignment to interview a residential school survivor leads Daniel to Betsy, his friend’s grandmother, who tells Daniel her story.