Skip to main content

Find Articles: Choose a Database

Find subject-appropriate databases, learn how to search effectively within databases, and access the full text of articles.

1. Choose a Database

The first step of searching for articles is figuring out where to search. The Library licenses hundreds of databases, many of them focused on specific subjects.

. 

Research Databases

The research databases that libraries subscribe to are indexes to information about articles, such as:

- Article title
- Author
- Publication title
- Volume and issue number [definition]
- Date or Year
- Abstract [definition]
- Other details

An article's citation information:

Image showing different parts of a citation found in an article

In addition to this "citation" information, databases will sometimes contain the full text of articles. In full text is not available from one database, it may be available from another. For more information, go to: 4. Find Full Text

 

An article's full text:

Image of a full text document

Choose the right database

The Library's Research Guides recommend databases that are appropriate for specific subjects. 

For example, someone who is doing research for a Business Communication course could try the Research Guides for Business or Communications.

Research Guides, A-Z:

Screenshot of research guides by subject

Select the appropriate guide, and go to the Articles & Databases tab. 

Image of an articles and databases tab

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a helpful tool, but does not cover all of the content that is available in UOIT's licensed databases. It is generally a good idea to use Google Scholar in combination with other databases. 

Also, be sure to add UOIT as your library in Google Scholar's Settings. You will be able to access more article full text that way. Watch the video on the right for a demonstration. 

.

NEXT Next button 2. Search: Keywords & Boolean Logic

Definitions

Abstract: An abstract is a summary of a piece of writing with the purpose of helping readers to quickly understand the key points.

Volume and Issue Number: Many periodicals, including journals and magazines, are numbered by volume and issue. An issue is a single instance of a periodical. Issues are grouped into volumes. Typically, a volume represents one year of issues.