Skip to main content

Archives: The Archival Collections

Digilog - Library Online Digital Archive

The Michael Bozozuk Collection

The Andrew H. Wilson Collection

The James L. Gordon Collection

The Donald S. Lawson Collection

The Frederick C. Boyd Collection

The Norman L. Williams Collection

The Mackenzie Pipeline Inquiry

The Allan Legere Court Case Transcripts

The Xerox vs IBM Transcripts

The Archive Collections

Academic Collections

Fonds University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of materials related to the creation and history of the university including brochures, calendars, commencement programs and other items. The collection consists of materials related to the creation and history of the university including brochures, calendars, commencement programs and other items.

 

Fonds Durham College of Applied Arts and Technology

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of materials related to the creation and history of the college including those of the President, Board of Governors, and Academic Council and various departments.  In 2001, when UOIT began on the Durham College campus, several departments functioned as shared services between the two institutions.  As the university grew, the services were realigned to more appropriate service the individual institutions.  As a result, some records may appear in the college or university collection.  The records date from the beginning of Durham College in 1967 to the present day.

 

Campus Art Holdings

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of information about art objects owned by UOIT and Durham College in the form of paintings, sketches, photographs, sculptures, mobiles suspended from ceilings, etc.  Painting may be oil, acrylic, watercolour, pastels, pen and ink, etc. 

 

Windfields Farm Collection

Note: This collection contains records that direct the researcher to other Fonds or Sous-Fonds within the collection. Or, to other Archive Collections in Canada.

The Collection contains records related to the Windfields Farm property owned by Durham College of Applied Arts and Technology and/or the University of Ontario Institute of Technology. The Collection does not focus on the accomplishments of Northern Dancer; however, any information acquired by the Archives about Northern Dancer will be included. References are made to external Archive collections holding records from E. P. Taylor, Windfields Farm and Northern Dancer.

 

National Engineering Organizations Collections

Note:  To view fonds and series finding aids, and levels of arrangement within the National Engineering Organizations Collections, please access the boxes to the left. Each box is named by ORGANIZATION NAME RESOURCES.

We recommend you view and/or print the Levels of Arrangement file to see the Series names.

 

The Engineering Institute of Canada

The University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) holds the archival collection of The Engineering Institute of Canada.

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of the records of The Engineering Institute of Canada relating to its history, organization, governance, committees, branches, correspondence, education, publications, photographs, artifacts, reports, meetings, finance and membership.  The records date from 1887 and the early 1900s to the present day.

Provenance

This collection was obtained from Andrew H. Wilson, P.Eng., FEIC, Chair of the History Committee of Engineering Institute of Canada and Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering.  Originally founded in 1887 as the Canadian Society of Civil Engineers, it was renamed the Engineering Institute of Canada in 1918, and is now a federation of learned societies in the engineering field. CSME is one of these societies, and was the first to be founded, in 1970.

History and Administrative Note

Document written by Andrew Wilson and Alistair D. MacKenzie, Chair, EIC History & Archives Committee and Dr. Pamela K. Drayson, Chief Librarian, University of Ontario Institute of Technology. The history of the organization is extensive.  Please refer to the linked document for details.

 

Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering

The University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) Archives holds the archival collection for the Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering.

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of the records of The Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering relating to its history, organization, governance, committees, branches, correspondence, education, publications, photographs, artifacts, reports, meetings, finance and membership.

Provenance

This collection was originally compiled by Andrew Wilson (Chair, History and Archives Committee) and John Plant (Executive Director).  Ownership was transferred to the UOIT Library Archives effective July 1, 2010.  The materials were then evaluated and accessioned by Brenda J. Jackson.  Finding Aids and the online access were made available December 15, 2010, and revised June 2011.

 

Canadian Society for Senior Engineers

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of the records of The Canadian Society for Senior Engineers relating to its history, organization, governance, committees, branches, correspondence, education, publications, photographs, artifacts, reports, meetings, finance and membership. 

Provenance

The Memorandum of Understanding between the C.S.S.E. and UOIT was signed in July 2012 by Don Lawson, Chair History and Archives Committee, Canadian Society for Senior Engineers and Dr. Pamela K. Drayson, University Librarian, UOIT.   

History and Administrative Note

(a) Although The CSSE was established in 2002, The CSSE History and Archives Committee was established in 2009.

(b) The CSSE, formerly The Life Members Organization (The LMO), a committee of The Council of The Engineering Institute of Canada (The EIC), was incorporated as a Member Society of The EIC on September 22, 2002.

 

Canadian Academy of Engineering

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of the records of The Canadian Academy of Engineering relating to its history, organization, governance, committees, branches, correspondence, education, publications, photographs, artifacts, reports, meetings, finance and membership.  The records date from 1987 to 2013.

 

Canadian Society for Civil Engineering

Scope and Content:  This small collection consists of the records of The Canadian Society for Civil Engineering relating to its history and organization.

 

Canadian Nuclear Society

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of the records of The Canadian Nuclear Society relating to its history, organization, governance, committees, branches, correspondence, education, publications, photographs, artifacts, reports, meetings, finance and membership.  The records date from 1979 to 2016.

 

Canadian Nuclear Association

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of the records of The Canadian Nuclear Assocation relating to its organization, governance, correspondence, publications (including Nuclear Canada Magazines), reports, meetings. The records date from the 1960s to 2010.

 

The Nuclear Industry

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of the records pertaining to the nuclear industry including the Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, CANDU (CANada Deuterium-Uranium), Canadian General Electric, Canadian and International activities, and reports.

 

Professional Papers of Individual Engineers

The Papers of Andrew H. Wilson: The Collection

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of the papers of Andrew H. Wilson featuring his involvement in national and international engineering organizations. 

Archival History/Provenance:  This collection was obtained from Andrew H. Wilson, P.Eng., FEIC, Chair of the History Committee of Engineering Institute of Canada and Canadian Society for Manufacturing Engineers. 

 

The Robert F. Legget Collection

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of the papers of Dr. Robert F. Legget assembled for research in writing the book “Handbook of Geology in Civil Engineering” (co-authored with Paul Karrow).  The research records are arranged in Series groups:  general, background by chapter, geographical, topical.  Also included are photographs, drawings, figures, the original manuscript, and copies of the final publication.

Provenance:  This collection was held by Paul Karrow and donated to the UOIT Library Archives through Michel Aubertin, President, Canadian Geotechnical Society.  The original collection was maintained by Paul Karrow.  Ownership was transferred to the UOIT Library Archives effective June 1, 2010. 

 

The Michael Bozozuk Collection

Scope and Content:  The Fonds consists of the Publications in Referred Journals List by Michael Bozozuk, Ph.D., P. Eng., Geotechnical Engineer.   The date range is 1953 to 1991.

 

The James L. Gordon Collection

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of papers in civil engineering written by James L. Gordon.

 

The Donald S. Lawson Collection

Scope and Content:  The initial items were donated by Donald S. Lawson.  The records cover topics within the nuclear industry in Canada and internationally with specific interest surrounding the CANDU reactor.

 

The Frederick C. Boyd Collection

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of the materials of Frederick C. Boyd, P. ENG., FEIC, FCNS.  The records cover topics within the nuclear industry (Nuclear Journal of Canada; NRX, National Research Experimental Reactor; NPD – 2, Nuclear Power Demonstration and Publications).

 

The Norman L Williams Collection

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of the materials of Norman L. Williams from his career in the nuclear industry in Canada and internationally.

 

Governmental Collections

The Mackenzie Pipeline Inquiry

Scope and Content:  Transcripts of interviews with aboriginal groups regarding the environmental/scientific aspects of the Mackenzie Delta pipeline (forerunner of the Keystone pipeline issue of today). An Inquiry established by an Order in Council of the Canadian federal government.  The Mackenzie Valley Pipeline Inquiry, chaired by Mr. Justice Thomas Berger, began public hearings in April 1975 and completed them in October 1976. An Inquiry established by an Order in Council of the Canadian federal government.  The Mackenzie Valley Pipeline Inquiry, chaired by Mr. Justice Thomas Berger, began public hearings in April 1975 and completed them in October 1976.

 

The Allan Legere Court Case Transcripts

Scope and Content:  Records from a court case of Queen’s Bench of New Brunswick, (Trial Division, Judicial District of Fredericton) between: Her Majesty The Queen and Allan Joseph Legere.  Trial held before Honourable Mr. Justice David M. Dickson and a Petit Jury at Burton, New Brunswick, commencing on the 26th day of August, A. D. 1991. Appearances:  Graham J. Sleeth, Esq., Anthony Allman, Esq., and John J. Walsh, Esq. for the Crown.  Weldon J. Furlotte, Esq., for the Accused. Copyright 1992, Department of Justice, Province of New Brunswick.

 

The Xerox vs IBM Transcripts

Scope and Content:  This collection contains the trial proceedings of the Xerox vs IBM patent case that occurred in 1977. In the Federal Court of Canada, Trial Division Between: Xerox Corporation and Xerox of Canada Limited, Plaintiffs, and IBM Canada Limited IBM Canada Limitee, Defendants. Trial Proceedings:  Before the Honourable Mr. Justice Frank Collier, held in the Federal Court of Canada, 330 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario, Canada, commencing on Tuesday, March 15, 1977 at the hour of 10 a.m. Appearances: Donald F. Sim, Esq., Q.C. and Ronald Dimock, Esq., Q.C. For the Plaintiff. And Russel Smart, Esq., Q.C. and James Kokonis, Esq., Q.C. For the Defendants. Hubbard Court Reporting Co. Ltd., Chartered Shorthand Reporters. Head Office: Ottawa, Canada. Tel: (613) 238-1848. Branch Office: Toronto, Canada. Tel: (416) 366-3474. Trial proceedings from Xerox Corporation v IBM Canada (1977) 33 C.P.R. (2d) 24. This is a noted patent case, as well as dealing with the issue of quality and reliability of expert witnesses.

 

University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Durham College of Applied Arts and Technology

Campus Art Holdings