Skip to main content

Distance Education Services: Help

Resources to support Distance Education and Online Learning students.

Help

IT Service Desk:
905-721-8668 x3333
 

 

Library Resources:
Fiona Munroe
Business & Online Learning Librarian
905-721-8668 x2976
 
Kate Gibbings
Education Librarian
905-721-8668 x2962

Need help?

chat loading...
in person | e-mail | phone

Frequently Asked Questions

What is my login?

To login to the library's databases use your UOIT student number and password, which is your network ID. If you are having trouble with your password, contact IT (905-721-8668 x3333, servicedesk@dc-uoit.ca) to reset it.

Where can I find my login?

You will find your student number in documentation sent to you from the University.

What is my PIN?

Your library PIN allows you to login to your library account and check the status of your library loans. Get your library PIN here.

Where can I find my PIN?

You get a PIN when you activate your student card at the Library circulation desk for library privileges. Get your library PIN here.

Can I check out library books?

To sign up for Distance Education borrowing services for books you must live more than 50km away from the North Oshawa Library and be taking an online only course. Requests for registration should be submitted to karin.downie@dc-uoit.ca. Please include your name and student/faculty number in your request.

If you do not have a Student ID card, after processing your registration, a separate library card will be mailed to you.

Circulating material that is currently "in library" will be checked out to you and mailed to your home. Normal loan periods apply. Material must be in receipt of the library by the due date or fines will incur. Non-circulating and reserve material will be photocopied and mailed to your home. Copyright restrictions apply.

To order material, fill out the 'Place a Request For Library Materials Form'.

If there are any irregularities with any requests received through the "Place a Request for Library Material Form" link, library staff will contact you using the email address we have on record.

How do I register for a library card?

Activate your student card at the Library circulation desk or register for Distance Education borrowing services by emailing karin.downie@dc-uoit.ca. Remember to include your name and student/faculty number in your request. If you do not have a UOIT Photo ID card, after processing your registration, a separate library card will be mailed to you.

How do I find journal articles?

Find journal or periodical articles by selecting 'Subject Guides' on the main library website. Here you will find a variety of subject specific guides. Select the appropriate subject and look under the 'Articles and Databases' tab. Here you will find a selection of databases and indexes where you can search for and find journal and periodical articles. Sign in using your student number and password (network ID).

If you know which database you want to search, locate it through Indexes and Databases A to Z list. This can be found on the library website selecting 'Direct Access' and selecting 'Indexes and Databases A to Z.'

To browse a specific journal or periodical, select Journal Titles A to Z. This can be found on the library website by selecting 'Direct Access' and selecting 'Journal Titles A to Z.'

Where can I find information on citation styles?

Citation styles vary by program, course and instructor. To find out which citation style to use, contact your instructor. Citation style guides can be found here. Citation styles can be found on the main library website by selecting 'Citation Styles' at the bottom of the 'Quick Links' section.

What if the Library does not have a book or article I need?

If you cannot find a book or article that you need from the library you can request it through an Interlibrary Loan.

Use the "Place a Request for Library Material Form"link to request Interlibrary loan material. Do not place an Interlibrary loan request directly through RACER unless you want to pick the item up at a UOIT Library.

How can I borrow books from other University libraries?

You can borrow materials in person at other participating University libraries in Ontario. You are strongly encouraged to obtain information on the privileges available at individual host libraries and what documentation is needed to sign up for a reciprocal borrowing services before visiting those libraries. Out of province students can inquire directly with their local University library to see if they offer reciprocal borrowing privileges, or sign up as a community borrower (for a fee).

To use the libraries at most colleges present your valid UOIT photo ID student or staff card and complete any necessary registration form. As as Distance Education you may not have a student ID card. In this case, contact the library in question directly to inquire about the necessary documentation needed to enroll in their reciprocal borrowing program. Proof of enrollment or a course registration form including your student number, date of course, etc. may be needed. Collateral identification may be required. You will be issued a library card for use at the library.

Subject Librarians

Meghan Miller
Science, Engineering & Energy Librarian
905-721-2000 x5360
Send Email

Ken McFarlan
Health Sciences Librarian
905-721-8668 x2962
Send Email

Kate Gibbings
Engineering and Applied Science Librarian
905-721-8668 x2976
Send Email

Fiona Munroe
Business & Online Learning Librarian
905-721-8668 x2963
Send Email

Chelsie Lalonde
Social Sciences & Education Librarian
905-721-8668 x5651
Send Email