Skip to main content

Open Access at the Library: Open Access

Open Access

Open Access Logo

Open Access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles, coupled with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment. (SPARC)

The Library and Open Access

The Library supports open access by encouraging faculty to deposit the results of their research in the university's institutional repository, e-scholar.

The Library does NOT pay for or subsidize author publication fees for open access publications. Most research grants factor publication costs into total funding.

Open Access Policies

NSERC and SSHRC researchers are required to make their publications freely available and accessible online at no cost within 12 months of publication. The policy is effective for all grants awarded from May 1, 2015 onward.

CIHR-funded researchers are required to deposit their data in an appropriate public database and make their peer-reviewed publications accessible at no cost within 12 months of publication.

Researchers can comply with open access requirements by depositing a copy of their research in the institutional repository, e-scholar.

Institutional Repository (Free - Green Open Access Option)

e-scholar@UOIT is an Open Access repository where faculty and students can upload and preserve their research. Publish in the journal of your choosing and deposit a copy in the institutional repository.

 Authors can choose to deposit their research articles in digital archives (often called Digital Repositories or Institutional Repositories) which conform to the standards of the Open Archives Initiative (OAI), and enable readers to freely access and fully reuse the article text.   - See more at: http://www.sparc.arl.org/issues/open-access#sthash.ASKDeydK.dpuf
 Authors can choose to deposit their research articles in digital archives (often called Digital Repositories or Institutional Repositories) which conform to the standards of the Open Archives Initiative (OAI), and enable readers to freely access and fully reuse the article text.   - See more at: http://www.sparc.arl.org/issues/open-access#sthash.ASKDeydK.dpuf
 
 Authors can choose to deposit their research articles in digital archives (often called Digital Repositories or Institutional Repositories) which conform to the standards of the Open Archives Initiative (OAI), and enable readers to freely access and fully reuse the article text.   - See more at: http://www.sparc.arl.org/issues/open-access#sthash.ASKDeydK.dpuf Authors can choose to deposit their research articles in digital archives (often called Digital Repositories or Institutional Repositories) which conform to the standards of the Open Archives Initiative (OAI), and enable readers to freely access and fully reuse the article text.   - See more at: http://www.sparc.arl.org/issues/open-access#sthash.ASKDeydK.dpuf

Deposit OA copies of publications in the UOIT Library's institutional repository. Most publishers allow authors to post pre-pub manuscripts into an institutional repository. Check publishing agreements before depositing a document into e-scholar@UOIT. By depositing research articles in the institutional repository, readers can freely access and fully reuse the article text.

Subject Repository (Free - Green Open Access Option)

Subject repositories are discipline specific repositories where you can upload your work to make it open access. Publish your research in the journal of your choosing and deposit a copy in a subject repository.

Deposit an OA copy of your publications in a subject repository. Many publishers allow authors to post pre-pub manuscripts into a subject repository. Check your publishing agreement before depositing a document into any subject repository. By depositing research articles in a subject repository, readers can freely access and fully reuse the article text.  

Open Access Journal (Pay - Gold Open Access Option)

Publish your work in an open access journal of your choosing and make your work freely accessible to readers. Many open access journals have article processing fees that range anywhere from $3 to $5000. Most research grants factor publication costs into total funding, so take this cost into account if you are considering taking this route for open access publishing.

*The Library does NOT pay for or subsidize author publication fees for Open Access publications.

More Impact with Open Access

  1. Wider availability and distribution of research
  2. Increased downloads of publications
  3. Greater chances of work being cited

Creative Commons

Creative Commons Logo

Most Open Access articles have Creative Commons copyright licencing. Creative Commons allows for others to share, use, and even build upon a work, while ensuring author acknowledgement.

You may also be interested in: