Skip to main content

Research Metrics: Article Metrics

Types of Article Metrics

Article Influence
The Eigenfactor score divided by the number of articles published in journal.  "I know how impactful the journal as a whole is, but what about the average individual article in the journal?"

SNIP - Source-Normalized Impact per Paper
Citation impact is weighted based on the total number of citations in a subject field. The impact of a citation is given higher value in subject areas where citations are less likely.

h5-index
This metric is based on the articles published by a journal over 5 calendar years. h is the largest number of articles that have each been cited h times. A journal with an h5-index of 43 has published, within a 5-year period, 43 articles that each have 43 or more citations.

AltMetrics Tools

Altmetrics focus on readership, diffusion and reuse indicators that can be tracked via blogs, social media, peer production systems, collaborative annotation tools (including social bookmarking and reference management services).

Article Metrics

Articles are published in journals.

Article metric or impact is calculated based on the number of times it has been cited.

Track who cited an article or book. Citation searching is useful for determining the impact of an article, book or author. It can be used to identify journals in which to publish, monitor research in a particular field, and identify potential research partners.

Citation Tracking

Image of an article's citation family treeCitation tracking can be used to discover how many times a particular article has been cited by others. Generally, the best articles have been cited most often.

Citation counts are not perfect and do not provide a complete citation count. Citation counts only count the number of times articles were cited by articles indexed in a specific database. Though Google Scholar may provide higher citation numbers, it may count a citation for one article more than once, or count links from Wikipedia or other websites. A number of factors can influence citation counts. Poor quality articles may be cited by those refuting them and very good articles might not be read or cited.

Citation indexes allow you to search academic literature and follow the progress of debates on a topic. Citation indexes help pinpoint the most influential articles on a subject, and the leading academics. You can track articles chronologically backwards and forwards to determine the position of a debate at a specific point in time.

Citation tracking helps identify response to a topics, criticisms, corrections, and retractions to articles. Citation tracking provides a way to analyse the direction and pace of research trends, shedding light on emerging areas of research.

Look up a specific article

You may want to look up metrics for an article written by you, or by someone else. The most common metric for articles is number of citations, however there are other ways of measuring their impact. 

Try starting with Google Scholar and Web of Science

Example: Find metrics for this article -> Curin, A., Vosko, C., Chan, E.W. & Tsimhoni, O. (2005). Reducing service time at a busy fast food restaurant on campus. WSC '05 Proceedings of the 37th Conference on Winter Simulation. pp. 2628-2635. 

Go to: Google Scholar 

Tip: Click on the "Cited by" link and look over the articles. Are any of them duplicates? 

Go to: Web of Science

Search the article, and look for the words "Times cited." How many times has the article been cited by other articles in Web of Science? Click on "Create Citation Report" for more details.

Need help? Video Image Use Web of Science to Find Article Citation Numbers (1:13)

What about altmetrics? 

Altmetrics for articles could include number of views, number of downloads, blog mentions, etc. For example, here is a record for the Curin, Vosko, Chan & Tsimhoni (2005) article in ACM Digital Library: public site | UOIT subscription. Under "Bibliometrics," ACM identifies the number of times the article has been downloaded in the last 6 weeks, 12 months, and cumulatively. 

Need help? Video Image Citation Numbers Vary in Each Database (0:41)

All Databases with Article Citation Counts

Find citation counts and trace citations in these databases.

Tips & Tutorials

Article Reviews provide in depth discussion of articles.

Rate or comment features in some database provide further insight into article impact.