Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Systematic Reviews

This guide lists resources related to conducting a Systematic Review.

Screen results & select studies

After exporting all results from your chosen databases (and other sources if relevant), multiple reviewers will make decisions on which articles to include and exclude based on the inclusion/exclusion criteria in your protocol. The first stage of screening is usually based on titles and abstracts, then a full text analysis follows before any data extraction.

Steps:

  1. Pre-screening: Record the numbers of results from each database or source recorded before screening commences.
  2. Title/abstract screening: Each reviewer will need to scan titles and abstracts to see if they match the criteria or have some value to the systematic review. This is done separately by each reviewer to ensure minimal bias. Results are then compared until a consensus is reached.
  3. Full-text screening: Reviewers look through the full-text of included articles to fine-tune the final collection of articles that will contribute to the review.

Documenting your results

A PRISMA (Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta Analyses) diagram depicts the flow of information through the different phases of a systematic review. It maps out the number of records identified, included and excluded, and the reasons for exclusions.

 

Image result for prisma flow diagram

chat loading...