Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

National Engineering Organizations Collections

Fonds F-9000 Engineering Institute of Canada Collection

The Ontario Tech University (formerly University of Ontario Institute of Technology, UOIT) holds the archival collection of The Engineering Institute of Canada.

Scope and Content:  The collection consists of the records of The Engineering Institute of Canada relating to its history, organization, governance, committees, branches, correspondence, education, publications, photographs, artifacts, reports, meetings, finance and membership.  The records date from 1887 and the early 1900s to the present day.

Provenance:  This collection was obtained from Andrew H. Wilson, P.Eng., FEIC, Chair of the History Committee of Engineering Institute of Canada and Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering.  Originally founded in 1887 as the Canadian Society of Civil Engineers, it was renamed the Engineering Institute of Canada in 1918, and is now a federation of learned societies in the engineering field. CSME is one of these societies, and was the first to be founded, in 1970.

Following is a list of PDF files available to view:

  • the Fonds Finding Aid for an overall description of the collection,
  • the Levels of Arrangement presenting a list of topics in which the collection has been arranged, and 
  • the Series Finding Aids.

If you are searching for a specific, please contact us at library.archives@uoit.ca.

chat loading...