Skip to main content

Open Access at the Library

Journal Hosting Service

The Campus Library provides a journal hosting service through the OJS (Open Journal System) platform.
Currently, the Library hosts two open access journals:
OJS is open source software developed by the Canadian nonprofit PKP (Public Knowledge Project). The platform’s features include support for submissions, online publication, reading tools, indexing and admin tools such as statistics. 

Getting Your Journal Indexed

Journals reach a wider audience when they appear in highly used indexes. The following steps for submitting your journal for inclusion in indexes are adapted from McGill University’s Scholarly Publishing guide and University of Ottawa's Scholarly Communication guide.

Many indexes require journals to have published a set number of volumes before they will be considered.

For a general guide to maximizing the visibility and readership of your journal, see:
ISSN
Obtain an ISSN for your journal by registering with ISSN.org
Google Scholar
If your journal is not being indexed by Google Scholar, submit it for inclusion using the form below. There is a category for submitting an OJS-hosted journal.
DOAJ
The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) is one of the most comprehensive and well known sources for open access journals that use a quality control system. 
Ulrich’s Periodical Directory

Ulrich’s is the authoritative source for publisher and bibliographic information for more than 300,000 periodicals worldwide.

Email Ulrich’s for inclusion: ulrichs@proquest.com
Discipline-Specific and Other Indexes
You may wish to submit your journal to other indexing and abstracting services that will reach readers in your subject/discipline. To identify relevant ones, check to see where similar journals are being indexed. Many journals will list where they are indexed on their home pages. You can also find this information in:
chat loading...