Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Patents

An introduction to patents: what they are, the benefits of including them in your research, where and how to search for them, and the patent application process

Google Patent Search

Google Patent Search

Google Patents searches the USPTO, so your results will only be American patents.

Government Patent Offices

European Patent Office (EPO)

 

United States Patent and Trademark Organization (USPTO)

* Patents issued from 1790-1975 are only searchable by patent number, issue date, and U.S. classification.

  • PATFT contains U.S. patents and APPFT contains U.S. patent applications only
  • Coverage is from 1790 to present, and patent applications from 2001 to present*
  • Uses the U.S. Patent Classification System (USPC) to classify patents

* Patents issued from 1790-1975 are only searchable by patent number, issue date, and U.S. classification.

 

Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO)

  • The Canadian Patents Database contains Canadian patents only
  • Coverage is from 1869 to present, with full-text available from patents from 1920 to present*
  • Classification varies depending on what year the patent was filed. Patents filed before October 1st, 1989 are classified according to the Canadian Patent Classification (CPC) system, while patents filed on or after October 1st, 1989 are classified according to the International Patent Classification (IPC) system.

* Texts from the abstract and claims sections isn't availble for patents issued before August 15th, 1978. You can only retrieve these patents by searching for their patent number, titles, owner/inventors, or classification.

 

World Intellectual Property Office (WIPO)

  • Patentscope has international patent applications from 1978 to present
  • Uses the International Patent Classification (IPO) system

 

Japan Patent Offices (JPO)

  • The Patent Abstracts of Japan (PAJ) has abstracts for Japanese patents
  • Coverage is from 1976 to present, with applications from January 1990 to present containing legal status information 

 

China Patent Trademark Office

 

Here is a link to other patent offices of the world.

Commercial Databases

You can search for patents through several of Ontario Tech's databases.

Other Patent Databases

Logo for Free Patents Online

 

 

Free Patents Online

 

Logo for Intellogist

 

 

Intellogist: has patent related tools, as well as information and comparisons between key patent databases.

chat loading...